Whenever I have ideas about what to write about, I always file them in my head, where they get lost more or less immediately. Then when I’m sitting at my computer thinking “hey, I should update” I have no idea what to write about.

Also, things are up in the air, so much. Mostly with the california thing. I don’t know that I’ll be able to get into the grad program I want- or any grad program. I’m smart and driven enough, but I think I just don’t have the base that they would want. So- looking at doing their undergrad program. Oof. It’s a great program with lots of interesting classes. I just really really don’t want to do general ed any more. I’m not sure how to investigate that. Is it possible to apply for both grad and undergrad? This is weird.

Current school is going okay, but weirdly. Because of Rosh Hashanah this week and Yom Kippur next week, I have a lot of cancelled days and things moved around. It’s making getting into the swing of school really hard. I need to sit down and study a bunch, and I just haven’t quite felt the impetus with all my classes skipping a week at one point or another. I have a chemistry quiz on monday that will be easy, but I definitely need to review a couple particular things for it. And then a take home quiz for statistics due thursday. Maybe working on those will get the ball rolling.

I’m a tiny bit torn about all the political shitstorm going on. Rather, I like Obama and hate Romney, so that part is clear, but (and I know this will sound ridiculous) I took a quiz about what candidate I agree most with, and for a silly quiz it was pretty thorough in asking my views on all arenas- foreign and domestic policy, education, immigration, environmental, etc, and it turns out I agree most strongly with Jill Stein, the Green party candidate. And I HATE the two party system. I think it’s one of the worst corners we could have backed in to, and it sucks. So, it would be really nice to break with that, and vote for the person who most represents my views (95%, according to this. Obama was 88%, which is still pretty high). But, it is like back in 2000, when “a vote for Nader is a vote for Bush”? I really don’t want that. It’s just all stupid and arbitrary feeling. Blah.

In happier, consumer news, I ordered a lightweight pea coat, and I’m super excited about it. Silly, yes. But it’s the little silly things that keep us going, I think. I also have all ingredients for a smoothie, so perhaps it is smoothie time.

Leave a comment